Can Vegans Eat Cheerios? The exact answer is NO! Cheerios are not vegan. To be more specific, this cereal contains Vitamin D3, which is made from sheep Lanolin.
However, there is no evidence to prove that wherever the factory uses a live or dead one, you still can not deny that it is made from animal coats.
Also, if the “sugar” of this type of cereal is white cane sugar, this ingredient might be whitened using calcium carbonate from animal bones.
Which Cereals Are Vegan?
Now, below are a list of 5 good kinds of cereal for vegan:
#1. Ezekiel 4:9 Sprouted Grain Crunchy Cereal – Food For Life, Golden Flax
This kind of cereal contains very little sugar and extremely healthy and oil-free ingredients.
Organic golden flax seeds, legumes, and organic grains (barley, lentils, soybeans, flour, wheat, millet) provide this cereal with some very beneficial Omega-3s that are good for your health.
Moreover, it’s a crunchy cereal that doesn’t contain GMOs, artificial flavors, or preservatives.
#2. Ezekiel 4:9 Sprouted Grain Flake Cereal – Food For Life, Original
Ezekiel 4:9 Sprouted Grain Flake Cereal contains almonds, raisins, flaxseeds, and chia seeds with a fairly simple taste.
You can use this product combined with vegan yogurt or frozen fruit ice cream for a better taste. Furthermore, this type of cereal is sweetened with organic agave, which is very beneficial for health.
#3. Original Puffins Cereal Of Barbara
Barbara’s Puffins cereals are delicious, crunchy, and tasty. This food is a highly recommended vegan cereal that has a simple taste and rich nutrition.
In addition, it is Non-GMO Project Verified and also contains a lot of fiber.
All current flavors of this cereal are vegan, like Peanut Butter, Pumpkin, Original, Multigrain, Cinnamon, Berry Burst, and Chocolate & Peanut Butter.
There is only one flavor of Honey Rice that is not considered vegan.
#4. Original Morning Oat Crunch Of Barbara
Als a Non-GMO Project Verified product, this cereal product is a natural source of healthy fiber. This product is quite crispy and delicious, which you can mix with optional spices like cinnamon or fruit.
All of Barbara’s Classic Grains are vegan, including Multigrain Brown Sugar, Morning Oat Crunch Original, Wheat Flour, Multigrain Spoonfuls.
However, bear in mind that this nutritious cereal is relatively high in sugar. It would help if you did not eat it as a daily staple.
#5. Wheat Berry Flakes – Uncle Sam Original
This type of cereal is oil-free and sugar-free with a pretty natural flavor.
Each product contains only a few vegan ingredients such as salt, barley malt, flaxseed, and whole wheat. Each serving will provide you with the necessary amount of protein and fiber.
How To Choose The Best Vegan Cereal
Some ingredients to avoid in vegan cereals:
- Natural flavors: When you see the words “natural flavors” in the ingredients list, you won’t tell if the taste is vegan or animal-based. Only choose cereal products with a vegan label.
- As well as being naturally flavored, sugar is sometimes made from bone char, which originates from animals.
- Vitamin D: Usually, vitamin D available in cereals is mostly of plant origin. If a product is not labeled as vegan, be careful as you might purchase a non-vegan product.
- Honey: It is not vegan because it comes from raw honey – which comes from animals.
- Gelatin: Some popular cereals today contain quite a lot of gelatin. But gelatin originates from animals.
Some Should-Have Nutritious Ingredients In Cereals
Here is some information if you want to add more nutrition to your vegan diet:
Each serving of cereal should have at least 5 grams of fiber, so you can ensure the amount of fiber your body needs is satisfied.
Besides, you can control the amount of fiber going into your body by looking at the labeled nutrition information on the product package.
In fact, you don’t need as much protein as you always think. Based on each person’s body, condition, and demand, the amount of protein needed will differ. It is vital to choose suitable cereals to fit your body’s needs.
Ideally, the amount of added sugar in cereal diets should be very low or non-existent. When you have a sugar craving, you can add a little sugar to your diet but do not overdo it.
Overall, it would be best to eat low-sugar cereals to prevent health issues like heart disease or strokes.
It’s also crucial to note that refined sugar is often not as healthy as natural fruit sugar.
Our Final Thoughts
So you’ve got your answer to the question, “Can vegans eat Cheerios?“. Most importantly, check the nutrition facts on the package if you’re unsure whether your product is vegan.
Vegetarianism is a way to give us a new diet that still ensures the nutrition we need and eliminates the suffering and exploitation of animals.
Additionally, please take note of our listed allergenic ingredients in vegan cereals that you should avoid.